top of page

(Not) Home for the Holidays

So I took a week off from blogging (or I forgot last week same difference), but this last weekend I traveled to Dublin with one of my roommates. It was one of my favorite stops so far. The city was so unique, the people were so nice, the country side was breath taking, and the history was interesting. I would put this trip pretty high up there if I were ranking my adventures so far. We used Friday to explore Dublin and do the Guiness Storehouse tour. After enjoying a picnic in the St. Stephen's Green, we wandered around Trinity College and saw the Dublin Castle and St Patricks Cathedral. Then we ended our day by sipping a pint of Guiness in the top floor of the factory with a 360 degree view of the sunsetting over the city. It was a pretty great view and beer. We had to check out the pub scene, naturally when in Ireland, and that night was one of the best nights of my life. I had no idea what to expect, but the crowd, the live music, the beer were all way above average. I never thought I'd get to enjoy a banjo and fiddle all in one night. The next morning we dragged our tired butts out of bed to do a day tour seeing the foggy Cliff's of Moher and Galway. It was called the Wild Rover Tour and it was well worth the 40 euro. We crossed the country and got to see a lot in one day. This whole trip was something I had always dreamed of doing. And although we were both exhausted by early mornings and late nights, I wouldn't have changed a thing.

This weekend I was supposed to be heading to Switzerland to hit the slopes, but sadly it got pushed back to a later weekend. While I was initially very upset thinking my chance to snowboard in the alps was over and my distraction from the holiday was gone, I'm happy I get to spend more time exploring Tuscany with one of my friends from home who is visiting from Rome. Everything works out for a reason, but it is still hard wrapping my head around missing my first thanksgiving with my family. Home sickness was bound to hit eventually, but I figured it'd be early in the semester. There was a brief moment I wanted to hop the next flight home, but obviously here I am sitting in my kitchen in Italy. I think my best advice to those who get homesick abroad is to take a step back and put in perspective where you are and how quick time is flying. I have less than a month until my family arrives, and that means my time here is coming to an end and I don't have long to wait to see them. Studying abroad is a once in a lifetime opportunity for students, and although it's hard being away from friends and family, you need to soak up every second you can while you're living in a foreign country. Who knows if something like this will ever happen again. And in spirit of the holiday, I'd like to say I'm very thankful for my family who has supported me through the ups and downs and managed to be by my side even from 4,000 miles away. I'm beyond grateful for everything I've been able to do this semester and I wouldn't trade it for the world.


You Might Also Like:
bottom of page